My Reading List for 2015

 

I hope you are having a happy and productive 2015. Each year seems to bring its new set of challenges and opportunities to learn and grow. I’ve had many new responsibilities added to my bring-home-the-bacon job, and new writing opportunities have opened up as well.

If I’m not careful my metaphorical saw begins to get dull and ineffective. One way I sharpen the saw is by turning to good books. I always start with the Good Book, and from there I selectively read books that are recommended by others, or that I see mentioned within my other readings.

Here is my list, and please use the comments field to tell us what you are reading.

  • Seven Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen Covey
  • Simplify by Joshua Becker
  • On Writing Well by William Zinsser
  • The Introvert Advantage by Marti Osen Laney
  • The Happiness Advantage by Shawn Achor
  • The Weight of Glory by C. S. Lewis
  • Bradbury Stories by Ray Bradbury
  • Soul Survivor by Philip Yancey
  • Rich Dad Poor Dad by Robert Kyosaki
  • David and Goliath by Malcolm Gladwell
  • Death By Meeting by Patrick Lencioni
  • Man’s Search For Meaning by Victor Frankl

I’m sure this list will continue to expand. I don’t have an exact target, but I like to complete a book at least every month. If I were to pick a favorite out of the list, it would be Covey’s Seven Habits of Highly Effective People. Another friend and my son are reading the book together and meet once a week to discuss. This is a life-changing book, which can help set a framework for establishing and tackling your life’s mission and goals. 

And that’s another approach to reading I’d recommend. Maybe pick a book from your own reading list and ask a friend, spouse, employee, or coworker to read it along with you. Take some time each week to reflect on the book with others. In my opinion, this will take your growth and the growth of others to the next level.

Please take a minute and let us know what good books you are reading.

Gob bless!

Scott

This entry was posted in Learning, Spiritual Journey and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Reading List for 2015

  1. Chris Peek says:

    Scott, excellent list. I’ve read both “Seven Habits of Highly Effective People” and “The Introvert Advantage” and would second your recommendation for both books. And I read Joshua Becker’s blog regularly, so I know his book will be full of great insights, as well.

    Right now, I’ve just started Jeff Goins’ new book “The Art of Work.” And I just finished up Donald Miller’s “Scary Close: Dropping the Act and Finding True Intimacy.”

What do you think?