The Lord is My Guide

IMG_0192.JPG
Psalm 23 continues to be one of my favorite Psalms. I’m impressed by how David relates so personally to God. David could easily identify with shepherding, and he saw God as his great Shepherd. Of course, David was a shepherd once in his past life.

Years ago someone introduced me to the idea of changing up the 23rd Psalm by substituting into it a different metaphor, one that I knew very well. I think back then I used “Engineer” in place of “Shepherd.”

The point here is not to suggest that we can improve upon God’s divinely inspired word. I mean no disrespect toward God’s holy scriptures, and I don’t want to alter its original meaning. The intention of this exercise is to show that God’s word applies to each of us on a personal level. If we can’t see our own situations, our own struggles, or our relationship to God through scriptures, then we’re surely missing the mark. The Bible is more than a great history book or book on theology. It’s a love letter to each person, signed by God with His blood.

This time I have substituted the metaphor of a Guide. Perhaps many of my outdoor brothers and sisters can identify with this. I hope you enjoy this, and drop me a line if you decide to join in with this fun exercise. Would love to hear your version.

The Lord is my Guide, my all in all.

He makes me lie down to listen and be still.

He leads me across secrets of the deep. Through lush, evergreen forests.

He refreshes my soul;

He guides me along right trails for His name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the long shadows,

Or escape the treachery of claw and fang,

I will move boldly and bravely;

You behind me. Beside me. In front of me.

Your wisdom and strength, they comfort me;

I enjoy the savory meal you have prepared. Your campfire pushes back the dark and envious forces.

Thy comforts delight my spirit. My coffee mug overflows

Surely goodness and mercy shall pursue me

All the days of my glorious journey,

And I will dwell in the Lord’s happy hunting grounds forever.

This entry was posted in Spiritual Journey and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Lord is My Guide

  1. markflorendo says:

    Such a nice blog! David was really after God’s own heart.

  2. Scott this is a great exercise! I’ve been a photographer for more years than I want to admit, and I thought I would use photographer in place of shepherd. As always great post my friend, I enjoy each and every one. Jay

    The lord is my photographer; He is all that I need.

    He shows me the beauty of green meadows; and peaceful streams.

    He renews my sight.

    He guides me through every assignment, each photo bringing honor to his name.

    Even when I photograph in the darkest valley, I will not be afraid, for You are my light.

    Your grace and mercy protect and comfort me.

    You feed my soul as I capture memories of my friends and my enemies.

    You honor me by framing my photos in my heart.

    My camera bag overflows with blessings.

    Surely I will purse God’s beauty all the days of my life,

    and my work will dwell in God’s house forever.

What do you think?

