Who I Am In Christ

For the past two weeks, I’ve been reading the materials of Dr. Neil Anderson, namely his book, Victory Over The Darkness. You might know of his more popular work, The Bondage Breaker. Neil’s main premise concerns spiritual maturity and how a Christian’s growth really takes off when he/she realizes who they are in Christ.

According to Neil, spiritual growth is not something we work towards, an exasperating, self-improvement approach. Rather, spiritual growth springs from a knowledge of Christ in us, and the transformation He has made, and is making, in every believer.

You and I are children of the living God, the Creator of the Universe.

We are saints.

Knowing who we are in Christ keeps us from asking questions like “can I do this?” or “should I not do that?” Instead, we shift to questions like, “why in the world would I do this?” or “why in the world am I not doing that?” See the difference?

We have to understand and then remember who we are in Christ.

To help us grow into maturity in Christ, Dr. Anderson created the following list, that helps remind us of who we are:

I am God’s child (John 1:12)
I am Christ’s friend (John 15:15)
I have been justified (Romans 5:1)
I am a member of Christ’s body (1 Corinthians 12:27)
I am a saint (Ephesians 1:1)
I am a member of Christ’s body (1 Corinthians 12:27)
I have been bought with a price (1 Corinthians 6:20)
I have been adopted as God’s child (Ephesians 1:5)
I have direct access to God through the Holy Spirit (Ephesians 2:18)
I am complete in Christ (Colossians 2:10)
I am free from condemnation (Romans 8:1-2)
I cannot be separated from the love of God (Romans 8:35-39)
I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me (Philippians 4:13)
I am a citizen of Heaven (Philippians 3:20)
I am hidden with Christ in God (Colossians 3:3)
I am God’s coworker (2 Corinthians 6:1)
I am salt and light of the earth (Matthew 5:13-14)
I am a personal witness of Christ (Acts 1:8)
I am God’s temple (1 Corinthians 5:17-21)
I am God’s workmanship (Ephesians 2:10)
I am enslaved to God (Romans 6:18)
I am a joint heir with Christ (Romans 8:17)
I am righteous and holy (Ephesians 4:24)
I am an enemy of the Devil (1 Peter 5:8)
I am what I am—by grace of God (1 Corinthians 15:10)

I encourage you to read the list above out loud to yourself, to your spouse, and to your kids. Drink deeply of these truths.

God bless!

This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth Tips, Spiritual Journey and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who I Am In Christ

  1. Deep truths, indeed. We are everything God says we are. Let us realize and walk in all them. Thank you for sharing this, Scott.

What do you think?

