Falling Into God

Two weekends ago my wife and I went to see the box office hit, Gravity. You have to see this movie, and it’s especially good in the 3D version. A cliffhanger to the max. Sandra Bullock and George Clooney played their characters well. The realism of the film surprised me. Seemed like the scenes were actually shot in outer-space, but that has to be a negatory, Houston.

20131106-193442.jpg

I know I’m probably reading too much into it, but there’s symbolism in this film that I just can’t let go. I believe stories can often teach us things that pure analysis or logic might miss. As I thought about God’s word this week, a verse kept popping into my mind—James 4:8a.

“Draw near to God and He will draw near to you.”

And then there are other verses which imply this “gravitational” effect of God: John 6:44, John 12:32, Hebrews 7:19 and Hebrews 10:22.

Being closer to God is something, I think, most people want. Could it be, though, that drawing closer to Him is not as complex as we make it out to be. Perhaps it’s a simple (not necessarily easy) matter of letting other things go. Or waking up and realizing we’re meant to be some place else, instead of floating about in emptiness. Picture an astronaut. Now picture those who are far from God; they continue to gaze on His beauty from a distance, tethered to their manmade ideas, cocooned in suits of pride. But space has been, and will forever be, a dead zone, a lifeless place where humans aren’t equipped to dwell.

When Sandra Bullock returned to earth (spoiler alert) in the escape pod, all she needed was a little thrust. Gravity had actually taken over because the space station had begun to drift back to earth. We have very little effect on gravity, but, oh, what an effect it has on us. Bullock suffered many things as that pod catapulted back to the planet: fear, uncertainty, heat of re-entry. As we try to escape the Godless space around us, falling into Him won’t be easy. Addictions can grip the best of us. Corrosive relationships can keep us drifting for years, maybe decades. There will be friction to overcome. But isn’t the escape worth it if we end up where we’re supposed to be?

Surely every astronaut who returns to earth kisses the ground and breaths deeply. That’s what I want in my life—to breath deeply, tucked away in the bosom of God. Hey, this is what I was designed for—where I’m meant to be.

This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth Tips, Spiritual Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Falling Into God

  1. Loved this: “Being closer to God is something, I think, most people want. Could it be, though, that drawing closer to Him is not as complex as we make it out to be.” Isn’t this the truth? Even the simple beauty of a flower can draw me nearer to Him…but I must take the time to see…

  2. Anonymous says:

    This was great Scott. Drawing closer to God is the greatest thing on earth. I can’t wait to be with
    him in Heaven. Great job.

What do you think?

