I Do and I Understand

20130912-124350.jpg

I recently saw this quote taped to a door in a high school. It’s short, but very profound. It has implications for me as a teacher, a leader, a parent and as a student. I’ll have to admit that I probably spend too much time on the first two lines and not enough on the third. But it’s only when we start to apply what we’re hearing and seeing that we truly understand and gain proficiency.

This entry was posted in Learning, Teaching and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Do and I Understand

  1. Kate says:

    This is also great teaching pedagogy. Kids definitely learn better when they ‘do’ rather than just passively listen. True for all of us! Sometimes, when I really want to learn something, I pretend I will have to teach it. Then I will be sure I really know it!

    • Thanks for the comment, Kate! I think you are on to something. I know that I learn more when I have to teach a topic. That may be an underlying reason why I blog, so that I will learn more.

      • Kate says:

        I agree. The blogging definitely help me ‘process’ – and then therefore have a clearer understanding and thought process! Thank you for coming by! 🙂

What do you think?

