The Glass Half Empty or Half Full?

I know–we tend to wear out this question: Do you see the glass half full or half empty? With engineering geek-juice flowing in my blood, I usually say neither one–the glass is simply overdesigned (LOL).

20130807-223424.jpg
Of course, I say this tongue-in-cheek, but I’m beginning to believe there may be a hidden truth here. To say the glass is half full or half empty, one must look at the size of the glass. Without considering the glass, the answer to the question has no meaning.

Join with me in reading these scriptures:

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You have anointed my head with oil; my cup overflows. Surely goodness and lovingkindness will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

Psalm 23:4-6

The Lord is the portion of my inheritance and my cup; you support my lot.

Psalm 16:5

Now to Him who is able to do far more abundantly beyond all that we ask or think, according to the power that works within us, to Him be the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus to all generations forever and ever. Amen.

Ephesians 3:20-21

For through the grace given to me I say to everyone among you not to think more highly of himself than he ought to think; but to think so as to have sound judgment, as God has allotted to each a measure of faith.

Romans 12:3

I won’t go into a detailed analysis of these verses, but they all seem to be telling me something: God gives us each a cup that’s overflowing. My cup may not be the size of your cup, but His cups all bubble over with blessings and goodness. At times, life will be hard, but God asks us to look to Him and view life from a different angle.

So, let’s throw away the cups this world designs for us. Take the one God freely gives.

How about you? How is God making your cup overflow?

This entry was posted in Spiritual Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

