Outdoor Adventure in North Georgia

Call it outdoor adventure, medicine, or therapy, but it works! This past week I took some time off to enjoy the outdoors with my wife and friends. My spiritual, emotional, and physical energy banks have been recharged.

One day, my wife and I took the kayaks up to Carter’s Lake near Ellijay, Georgia. They say it’s the deepest lake in Georgia, but I would call it the most beautiful and clearest lake I’ve visited in some time. The undeveloped banks thrive with trees you just don’t see further south–white pines, black locusts, and hemlocks.

20130804-213327.jpg

20130804-213342.jpg

20130804-213358.jpg

20130804-213412.jpg

20130804-213421.jpg
Before the Coosawattee River was dammed up, the hills that now poke up through the lake gave James Dickey his inspiration for the novel, Deliverance. I know–not a piece of information you wanted to hear. But I assure you that the moonshiners have since moved on–at least I think they have.

Feel free to email me if you want to know more about this great Georgia getaway.

On another day, my friend took me trout fishing near Dahlonega, Georgia. At a stream simply called No-Name Creek (LOL). My first official trout fishing adventure, and I loved it. We bushwhacked and waded our way upstream for about a mile or two, a bit further than the crowds generally go. And the payoff was wonderful.

In the picture below, you can see that my friend and I limited out on trout that day.

20130804-213906.jpg

20130804-214920.jpg

How about you? What adventures have you jumped into this summer, and how did those experiences affect you?

This entry was posted in Outdoor Knowledge, Outdoor Skills and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Outdoor Adventure in North Georgia

  1. Awesome…..glad you had a great time and got recharged!!!

    • Thanks, Don! I’m hurting some today, but, hey, that’s a good kind of hurt. Nothing a few ice packs can’t cure. Thank God, I can still get out and do these things even in my mid-forties.

  2. Chris Peek says:

    Looks like a couple of great adventures, Scott. What a beautiful part of the country to kayak. Reminds me of home in east Tennessee.

    • Thanks, Chris! I wish I had more time to explore parts of Tenn. I’ve been to a few places, but there’s probably a lifetime list of things to visit up and down the Appalachians.

  3. Pingback: Outdoor Adventures in the Southeast | Trails of Life

What do you think?

