6 Bible Verses that Simplify Life

These are by no means the only Bible verses that will help streamline your life. They happen to be the few I thought about and meditated on this day. Though I’ve stated that these verses can help you simplify your life, I don’t mean to imply they will be easy to apply. But applying them is what makes them work. And surely they will lead the way to more peace in this life.

20130610-230758.jpg

Focus on the eternal. David lived with the end in mind. Set your mind on the important things that will count for eternity. Much of what we strive for or worry about now won’t mean a hill of beans once we’ve left this earth.

One thing I ask from the Lord, this only do I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze on the beauty of the Lord and to seek him in his temple. Psalm 27:4 (NIV)

One thing you lack. What is the one thing that may be holding you back? Maybe it’s not selling all your possessions and giving to the poor. But all of us do lack one thing. Ask Jesus to point it out. Your spiritual life may only be one degree away from the boiling point.

Jesus looked at him and loved him. “One thing you lack,” he said. “Go, sell everything you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.” Mark 10:21 (NIV)

Narrow your choices. How often do we choose things we think are absolutely essential in this life, when they’re not. Very few things are mandatory in this life. Jesus told Martha not to focus on many things but focus on one thing.

“Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, but few things are needed—or indeed only one. Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.” Luke 10:41-42 (NIV)

Remember the prize. Set your course toward one goal–the prize of being in God’s presence. Don’t dwell on your failures and the past. Set your sights on what lies ahead.

Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus Philippians 3:12-14

Trust in The Lord. This has been a life verse for me. The shortest distance between two points is trusting God and acknowledging him in all your ways. Not trusting him can complicate things.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight. Proverbs 3:5-6

Discover the root cause. This verse reminds me of the 80/20 rule. The many messes in our life can often be narrowed down to just a few trouble spots–maybe even one. Ask God to reveal an area that may be hindering you.

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. Hebrews 12:1,2

What is God teaching you about streamlining your life?

This entry was posted in Spiritual Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 6 Bible Verses that Simplify Life

  1. Anonymous says:

    Great verses and thoughts!

  2. Proverbs 3 is a scripture I have spent most every day reading and meditating on for the past several months. Trusting God rather than my own intelligence is an area where I recognize I can benefit from some mind renewal.

    • thanks, Henry. I have this verse–Proverbs 3:5,6–in a frame next to my desk. So I try to reflect on it fairly often also. Again, not always easy to do, but it does simplify life in the long run.

  3. I really like your thought about narrowing the choices. I often try to do too much that matters little. I need to do the little that matters much. This is a good one for me to meditate on over the next few days.

    • Thanks, Shereen. I’ve found that I sometimes have to change my conjunction from “and” to “or.” It’s easy to get caught up thinking we have to do this and this and that. Introducing the “or” helps reduce it down. Thanks for the comment.

What do you think?

