5 Benefits of Owning a Dog

Earlier this year my daughter and I struck a deal: She could get a new puppy when school let out for summer. That way she could spend time housebreaking and caring for our new little furry friend.

Summer break has arrived! And, of course, I honored our agreement.

20130604-201936.jpg

So, let me introduce Chevy, our new Beagle puppy. If you’re like me when it comes to decision making, you probably list out the pros and cons before making a final move. In this post, I thought I would share what I listed as the major pros for owning a dog.

    Dogs teach and inspire us. Some of my favorite movies have been about dogs: Old Yeller, White Fang, Where the Red Fern Grows, Benji, Beethoven, etc. When I think of a dog’s best character traits, loyalty and friendship come to mind. See my prior blog post: A Model of Loyalty

    Dogs make awesome companions. One of God’s greatest gifts to man. We all need something to love and care for in our lives.
    Dogs may deter home burglaries. After scouring the internet, the general consensus seems to be that having dogs may help prevent some home invasions. Not full proof by any means. Most dogs don’t attack intruders, but they may bark, especially if kept on the main floor where thieves are more likely to break in.
    Dogs help us be more responsible. What a great way to train up your kids and begin teaching them how to look out for the needs of others. Even us adults can use some help in this area.

    Dogs can improve our health. Check out this article from WebMD, 5 Ways Pets Improve Your Health. We love to take our dogs on walks and sometimes hikes. They usually help increase my walking pace. Having a sedentary type job, I need the exercise.

If you own a dog, I’m sure you know what I’m talking about. Give that animal a great big hug and kiss–and a treat!

If I’ve left out any other benefits, please write me a note in the comments field. Also, feel free to share what you love most about your dog or other pet.

20130604-202235.jpg

This entry was posted in Outdoor Skills and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 5 Benefits of Owning a Dog

  1. Susan says:

    We have a beagle also. Have Steph bring Chevy over to play sometime. Add The Art of Racing in the Rain and Marley and Me to the list.

  2. Mildred Aenchbachr says:

    Having a puppy is like having a baby. You love it, feed it, walk it, take it out to pp & poop. It’s a little bit easier than changing diapers. Puppies are just plain fun. They are so sweet to hold and once they get to know their owner’s, they truly are one of the family. I want to see Chevy so bad.I’ll try to come up soon so I can see him. Love ya’ll, Mimmie

What do you think?

