Teach Like Jesus Taught – Part 5

Thank you for hanging in there with me on this series of blog posts. I want to leave you with some final thoughts as I conclude Teach Like Jesus Taught.

20130530-201916.jpg

I’m not suggesting that we use any of these ideas as just a formula for teaching. Pragmatism isn’t the main goal with me. Yes, I do want principles that work. Any of us can copy a great teacher–we can even copy Jesus–and expect to see some reasonably good results. But what really gives our teaching purpose and power? What can help us–from a spiritual standpoint–have the maximum impact with our teaching? What gives us stamina to keep going?

I’d like to sum up the previous posts with these two bring-it-all-together ideas:

Jesus’ teaching was motivated by love. Paul says in 1 Corinthian 13 that without love we are nothing. A teacher without love is like a noisy gong or clanging cymbal–he’s just making noise.

I love this quote from John Maxwell: “People don’t care how much you know until they know how much you care.” Most folks learn more from teachers who genuinely care.

The Love Chapter – 1 Corinthians 13
Jesus felt compassion – Matthew 9: 35-39, 14: 13,14
Peter’s motives and his commitment are clarified by Jesus – John 21:15-19

Ask: Do I really love those I teach? What’s my real motivation as a teacher?

Idea: Do something for a group member that says, “I love you! I care about you!”

Jesus gives teachers his Holy Spirit. A teacher with genuine love and the Holy Spirit in his/her heart is unstoppable. Yes, we can use our human abilities and talents, but the power of God’s Spirit will take our teaching to a much higher level. It will create a much bigger impact. Perhaps beyond what we can imagine. Just read the first few chapters from the Book of Acts.

Jesus referred to the Holy Spirit as our Guide. And the cool thing is that He’s not only guiding you, but He’s also guiding your pupils. A built-in tutor, so to speak.

Some people have the spiritual gift of teaching, but that doesn’t mean all of us must have that gift to be an effective teacher. I know many who have the gift of mercy, prophecy or service, and they are excellent teachers. So don’t think that teaching has to be your primary spiritual gift. But we do need God’s Spirit for every kingdom-building endeavor.

Paul taught in the power of the Spirit – 1 Corinthians 2
Follow the transformation of Peter and the birth of the Church – Acts 1-3
The guidance of the Holy Spirit – John 16: 12-14

Ask: Am I a Spirit-filled teacher? Am I putting my faith in my own abilities or the abilities of the Spirit?

Idea: Dedicate your teaching to God. Stay humble and ask that God’s Spirit would control your life. And specifically your teaching.

Thanks again for checking out these posts. I love you guys!

Question: Have I missed anything or missed the mark on anything? Please way in on this topic and share your experiences as a teacher or a pupil.

This entry was posted in Spiritual Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Teach Like Jesus Taught – Part 5

  1. Anonymous says:

    Sometimes we teach just to fulfill a need, but there’s much more to it as you have written!

    • I agree and sometimes I have to ask myself–am I doing it to meet my own need or someone else’s need. We know the Bible holds wisdom for all our needs. Sometimes the challenge is trying to sense what are the particular needs of your audience right now–at their particular station in life.

What do you think?

