Daily Writing Tips Resource

I have a confession to make: My favorite part about writing is not the actual writing. Wow, I’m glad I got that off my chest.

20130521-200859.jpg

What really gets me excited is sharing a moving, entertaining story or communicating a principle the reader discovers to be useful for his/her life. I want my writing to encourage readers, to engage them, to make them laugh, to make them cry. Isn’t that what most writers want in the end?

I realize, though, that to create an effective and impactful story, one needs to know some basics about the mechanics of writing, punctuation, grammar and also style (note: copy editors may not be available to critique everything we write, but use them whenever possible). Remember, the reader and writer share the same rules of communication. Just the wrong placement of a comma can totally change my original meaning. If I come across as preachy, I risk losing the reader’s attention. If all my sentences are structured the same way, my writing might sound boring.

People aren’t mesmerized by information alone; drama is what draws a crowd–so how a writer communicates something can be just as important as what he is saying.

Several weeks back, someone pointed me toward a valuable writing resource–Daily Writing Tips. Each day, you receive tips that will improve your writing skills. It doesn’t really matter what a person writes. A book, a blog, email, a report, an essay. Fiction or non-fiction. Daily Writing Tips will help you become a better writer. For your convenience, I’ve included links to five articles that I thought you might find interesting. If you like what you read, please consider subscribing to the website. It’s free.

Creative Writing 101

10 Functions of the Comma

The Writing Process

100 Beautiful and Ugly Words

Let the Word Do the Work

This entry was posted in Outdoor Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daily Writing Tips Resource

  1. hopemccain says:

    Regarding that first paragraph: you’re not alone!

  2. Thank you for making your confession, Scott Glad to know I’m in good company with regard to my feelings about the process of delivering the message versus the satisfaction of having delivered it.

    And thanks for sharing the website. I just subscribed.

What do you think?

