Spiritual Growth Tip #1 – The Spirit

I’ve decided to begin a series of short blog posts on spiritual growth tips. These won’t always be consecutive, and I will continue to post some longer blog articles along the way. By using the word tips, I don’t mean to imply a cavalier approach to our walk with God. There is much more to spiritual growth than just following a few prescribed tips.

But God has asked us to examine His scriptures verse by verse, precept by precept. So God may be suggesting that we learn and apply best in bite-size chunks. After reading Proverbs these many years, I’ve often wondered if Solomon–in his wisdom–might have anticipated Twitter. Just kidding, of course.

Tip #1

Any discussion about spiritual growth has to start with the root word of spiritual growth–the Spirit. Without Him there could be no transformation or growth. His regenerating power makes it possible for us to grow. I’ve learned this the hard way in my own life. For a time, I really believed that if I just tried my hardest and gave it my best shot, that I could cause spiritual growth in my own life. But I had that backwards, because the power of God’s Spirit is the real change Agent. His Spirit changes my spirit and enables me to follow His commands and to follow Him with a genuine heart.

So please start with this tip or all others will be in vain. Stay humble under the leadership and control of God’s Spirit.

You foolish Galatians, who has bewitched you, before whose eyes Jesus Christ was publicly portrayed as crucified? This is the only thing I want to find out from you: did you receive the Spirit by the works of the Law, or by hearing with faith? Are you so foolish? Having begun by the Spirit, are you now being perfected by the flesh?

Galatians 3:1-3

    If interested, please check out a small group study I created on the Holy Spirit. Feel free to use and share with other small groups or group leaders.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth Tips and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spiritual Growth Tip #1 – The Spirit

  1. “God may be suggesting that we learn and apply best in bite-size chunks.”
    Excellent point.

    “For a time, I really believed that if I just tried my hardest and gave it my best shot, that I could cause spiritual growth in my own life.”
    Been there, done that. So glad I know better now, and so grateful for God’s grace.

    Love your heart, Scott. Thank you for sharing this post.

What do you think?

