Man of Still

I can hardly wait! In June, the new Superman movie Man of Steel will appear in theaters. Since I was a boy, Superman has been my favorite super hero. The costume, the colors, the powers, the secret identity–I love it! And what little boy (or man) doesn’t live vicariously through this character, imagining his own greatness with abilities to save the day?

The story of Superman has some fascinating origins in its creators Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster. I’ve read that some inspiration for Superman was based on Hercules and Sampson. The name Clark came from the actor Clark Gable. And Lois Lane was modeled after Siegel’s wife.

Although I enjoy Superman immensely, he cannot replace the real Superman–Jesus Christ–who came to this world to save mankind from the greatest evil–a broken relationship with God.

I call Jesus the Man of Still because so often in scripture we find Him telling us to be still and have faith in Him. When bad things happen, He reminds us that He’s still with us. Here are some reminders from scripture:

  • God sets the stage in Psalm 46:10 – “Be still, and know that I am God …”
  • In Mark 4:39 he tells the wind and seas to “Hush, be still
  • Scripture reminds us that we don’t usually find Him in cataclysmic events or worked-up manifestations—but He can be found in, “the still, small voice.”
  • Throughout the Gospels, Jesus models a devotion to the Father and a pattern of seeking Him through prayer and quiet solitude. Mark 1:35.
  • Even as He performs the greatest miracles, it seems like He’s constantly asking His disciples this question: Do you still lack faith?
  • He may not resolve all our problems in a Hollywood hour or two, but He promises that wherever we go, He is still there with us. Mathew 28:20.

    As Christians, we don’t have to live vicariously through the stories of a great fictional hero or a Hollywood legend. We literally have Jesus with us even to the end of the age.

    While we still sleep, He is still speaking. He is still calming our storms. He is still on the throne. He is still praying for us. He is still guiding us—He is still with us! So go boldly into the world this week and live for Him.

    This entry was posted in Spiritual Journey and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

    4 Responses to Man of Still

    1. Anonymous says:

      Good points Scott! Ron

    2. Mildred Aenchbachr says:

      I love this blog. Be still and know that I am God has always been one of my favorite verses. It’s only through being still does our Father hear us. .After reading what I wrote, I realized that HE does hear us even when we aren’t still. I have had many times when I called out to God in panic and I know HE heard me. It’s also through being still that I hear what he says back to me.. Love you, Mimmie

    What do you think?

    