Christmas and the Meekness of Christ

I hope everyone has a safe and blessed Christmas, and I wish you the best for 2013.

Most of us focus on certain aspects of the Christmas season and what it means for us. Celebrating Christmas constantly reminds me of one of Christ’s greatest attributes: meekness.

20121222-094341.jpg

We tend to associate meekness with the word weakness, but the two are very different. When I look to nature, I see this idea of meekness embodied in that animal we call the horse.

My daughter has a horse named Rocky. She feeds him, grooms him and rides him. We board the horse at a stable only 20 minutes away. It blows my mind how my girl can command control of that horse through her voice or the pressure of the bit and rein. And his weight and strength must be at least a hundred times greater than my daughter’s. He could easily trample her, outrun her or make his escape through or over the fence.

Here is one of my favorite passages of scripture from the Apostle Paul describing the meekness and humility of Christ:

In your relationships with one another, have the same mindset as Christ Jesus: Who, being in very nature God, did not consider equality with God something to be used to his own advantage; rather, he made himself nothing by taking the very nature of a servant, being made in human likeness. And being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to death—even death on a cross! Therefore God exalted him to the highest place and gave him the name that is above every name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue acknowledge that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.

Philippians 2:5-11

Just think about it. The God of the universe left His highest estate and came to dwell with us as a man. It may be a poor comparison, but have you ever considered–if it were possible–becoming an amoeba or a paramecium? I find it mind-boggling to understand why God would love us this much, but He does.

Though amoebas are fascinating to view under the microscope, I must admit, I find no love or bond with them. Then I’m reminded that I didn’t create the amoeba or paramecium–God did. In His own way, He probably does love the amoeba and can account for every one of them. Dimensionless and scalable–He’s an all-powerful Being who shows tremendous restraint and meekness. Through the coming of His Son He demonstrated His love and commitment to the works of His hands. He doesn’t look at you and me the same way we would view a microscopic creature–thank God! Even more amazing, He tells us we are made in His image.

I don’t know about you, but I often forget Who I’m praying to and worshipping. My Creator could have easily given up on me, forgotten me or even condemned me. But, no, He did something even more surprising, becoming a man and living among us and experiencing a violent crucifixion. That’s a love and a commitment that can’t be ignored.

So as we celebrate this Christmas, let’s remember that baby Jesus in the manger–the all powerful God of the universe, but also the meek and humble One. Emmanuel, God with us.

Merry Christmas!

This entry was posted in Spiritual Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas and the Meekness of Christ

  1. Scott, Phil. 2 is one of my favorite chapters in the Bible. It’s my goal to live with the same mindset as Christ – in humble service to Him. Merry Christmas to you and your family!

What do you think?

