7 Helpful Websites for Bloggers and Writers

I don’t know about you, but for me writing–great writing–doesn’t come easy. I will take all the help and feedback I can get. And we all should if we want our writing to influence and provide value.

Image

I’ve been reading about Ernest Hemingway and how he got his start as a writer and author. For him, it didn’t happen overnight. He perfected his style and voice over many years and with the help of some great mentors and models.

Below are a few sites that I’ve subscribed to for a while. They’ve been a huge help to me as a blogger and self-published author–and not just in terms of head knowledge. Through some of these sites I’ve met some wonderful people who are willing to mentor and provide honest feedback on my work. I hope you will want to add these to your resource list.

Writing and Blogging

Michael Hyatt – Michael’s website is a rich source of encouragement and practical advice for writers and bloggers. He also writes articles about leadership, personal development, how to increase your productivity, and how to improve your effectiveness.

Jeff Goins Writer – Jeff is a fairly new and successful up-and-coming writer/blogger. He has done extremely well as a self-published author. Jeff’s blog instructs and inspires new writers. He speaks a lot about how to take your writing to another level, a level where people will value your writing enough to pay for it.

Blogging Your Passion – This site was founded by Jonathan Milligan. It’s also co-hosted by another successful blogger, Bob Lotich. Their blog posts are practical and easy to follow. Some of the topics they cover: how to start a blog, how to use key words to generate more traffic, how to generate ideas for new blog posts. He has also created a suite of blogging courses set at an affordable price.

Copyblogger– This site is chop full of practical articles that will help you produce relevant blog articles. Articles that will help you correctly focus your blog and build your target audience. They share many ideas on the processes and the techniques of marketing blogs/websites, and they often share a number of helpful software tools.

Forums

48Days.NET – This is an incredibly helpful site produced by Dan Miller, author of 48 Days to the Work You Love. The wide assortment of forums there help to encourage and to mentor those blessed with an entrepreneurial spirit. I regularly follow three forums on the site: Write It Forward, Fiction Writers Connect and Blogging Your Passion.

Writing Style and Grammar

Grammar Girl – A great resource to use when writing your second draft or for polishing your writing skills. Quick and easy to follow.

Word Play – A blog created by K.M. Weiland. This is especially useful to the fiction writer who wants to learn about character development, creating great dialogue, building proper backstory, when to show or tell, etc.

There are many more sites I could name, but these are a few I find myself coming back to time and time again. But a word of caution: don’t spend all your time reading about writing. Set aside time each day to write something. As they say, practice makes perfect.

Please take a minute and share any websites, blogs or recourses that have helped you become a better writer. Or you can share about any writing projects you’ve completed or the ones in progress.

Good luck! I wish you the best in all your writing endeavors.

This entry was posted in Outdoor Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 7 Helpful Websites for Bloggers and Writers

  1. galuri85 says:

    awesome! thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Mom says:

    Great list, thanks!
    Kassie aka “Mom”

  3. Gwen says:

    My personal favorite is Word Play. Thanks for the helpful list!

  4. Mike says:

    These sound like they could really be helpful. The Grammar Girl might have saved me some time. I was about ready to send my book in for print but decided to let a good teacher friend of mine look at it for punctuation. Ignorance is bliss I guess. I had so many marks on my pages I could hardly read them. Oh well. I’ll be better for it.

    Thanks for the list. Now all I need is more time to look at them.

  5. Nice. I just found Grammar Girl a few weeks ago!

  6. Susan says:

    I was a Grammar Girl fan long before she was popular – love her!
    Also Jeff Goins and I subscribe to Daily Writing Tips. I do, prefer, to just read what I like rather than reading how to write. Give me anything Malcolm Gladwell or Donald Miller writes, and I learn something.
    I’m currently working on a project for Emory. I’m recording my perspective on transitioning a kid from high school to college which will be given to parents at freshmen orientation next year. After three years of academic writing, this is fun!

    • Great ideas, Susan! Reading other author’s works is an excellent point. Although, I’m not a huge fan of Hemingway’s stories, I have been learning more about his writing style–simpler sentence structure, streamlined dialogue, and his so-called Iceberg approach. So much can be learned by reading the works of other great writers.

What do you think?

