A Model of Loyalty

My family continues to mourn the loss of our little dog, Bonnie. About three weeks ago, I returned from lunch to find her sprawled out on the living room floor, half dead. In route to the vet, she passed away. It remains a mystery as to why she died. The autopsy couldn’t find anything wrong other than a slightly enlarged liver. We speculate that she may have been poisoned or had a physical condition we knew nothing about.

20121203-100525.jpg

We rescued Bonnie twice. Once from a busy roadway and then from the Humane Society. We all grew attached to her during the 4 months we had her. She was a special dog. It’s amazing how dogs and cats or other pets can play such a vital role in our lives. But dogs have played an especially important role in my life.

I could express the many great traits of dogs: their intelligence, their usual excitement and energy, their protective qualities, their special abilities, but I most admire their loyalty and love. A friendship and bond that stands the test of time.

Dogs have always been there for me: greeting me at the door, wagging their tail, wanting to follow me and be with me, living a life committed to me. And it’s a full commitment even during good times and bad.

As I thought about this great character trait of the canine world, I thought about my loyalty and devotion to God, to my family, to my friends. Yes, humans also can be loyal, but what stands out most about a dog’s loyalty is the consistency of their loyalty.

God, thank you for the gift of dogs and the wonderful way they model loyalty and love. Help me to be consistent in my devotion to You and to the ones I love.

What about you? What do you admire most about your pet?

“It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails …”
1 Corinthians 13:7-8 (NIV – Biblegateway)

This entry was posted in Spiritual Journey and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Model of Loyalty

  1. Scott, I’m sorry for your loss. Having had a dog growing up and now 3 cats, I know how a pet is truly one of the family.

  2. Aww, sorry to hear about Bonnie.

  3. Mia Anstine says:

    So sorry for your loss Scott. We have so many animals, that we experience an increased quantity of loss. One thing we can learn from a dog is that their faith is unconditional. They do not question. They just love and follow us. We can all learn to do this as we follow God in pure faith.

  4. Pingback: 5 Benefits of Owning a Dog | Trails of Life

What do you think?

