Recalculating

Have you ever taken a wrong turn?

This past summer we were traveling back from a state park in Alabama, and I took the backroads. As I missed two or three turns, the little gray box on my dash patiently repeated the word–recalculating. That’s a great word!

20121023-135142.jpg

I have quickly become spoiled by using the GPS to help me reach my destination. Missed a turn? No problem. It quickly calculates a new route. Need to make a detour? No problem. The GPS can take me just about anywhere I want to go.

If I could just have a GPS for the other areas of life. Well, actually I do. Recently, at one of my men’s small group meetings, someone made the comment that God doesn’t have a Plan B. A very profound thought. The route He takes us along may change, but the destination–Plan A–stays the same. You see, Plan A is greater than all my plans.

Sometimes these “recalculated” routes take us down some interesting and often scary paths. They take us out of our comfort zones. The long way around. Through some out-of-the-way places. And though we may not prefer these routes, our choices probably had something to do with it.

Our society often touts: Its not the destination, but the journey. Now, that sounds great on paper and in car commercials, but if you have kids, you’re probably also familiar with the phrase: Are we there yet? So life is about both the journey and the destination.

Through the journey, God is testing us, stretching us, and shaping us.

The destination is who He wants us to become. More like Him. Not necessarily a location, a career path or a certain socioeconomic status.

Perhaps this will be the cycle throughout eternity. Who says the journey has to end after this life?

So if you’ve gotten off the path or made a wrong turn in life, don’t be discouraged. Pick yourself back up and keep moving forward. Rejoice in God’s mercy and forgiveness, and rejoice in these encouraging words:

He restores my soul;
He guides me in the paths of righteousness
For His name’s sake.

Psalm 23:3

For the ways of a man are before the eyes of the Lord,
And He watches all his paths.

Proverbs 5:21

For a righteous man falls seven times, and rises again,
But the wicked stumble in time of calamity.

Proverbs 24:16

Listen to counsel and accept discipline,
That you may be wise the rest of your days.

Many plans are in a man’s heart,
But the counsel of the Lord will stand.

Proverbs 19:20-21

What about you? Would you share some verses or advice on how you’ve navigated the paths of life?

This entry was posted in Spiritual Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Recalculating

  1. Don Morse says:

    I have named my GPS Peggy Sue, she tell’s me often “when possible make a legal u turn”. After reading your post it kind of gives that a new meaning. I have said many times I wish I would have done that different…a u turn? I sometimes wish I would have paid more attention in school & take different classes. I wish the last thing I had said to my dad before he died was not hurtful (teenager) I wish I would have met my wife many years ago before I met my first wife. A u turn sounds nice at times but then again my choices have shaped my life and I like where I am now. Thanks for the post Scott

    • Thanks, Don! As you’ve mentioned, it’s easy to get caught up in the “I wish I had” mentality. We definitely shape our life by our choices, but Got can overcome that and use those choices to take us to great places. And like you mentioned, it’s good to be content with where God has brought us so far. God bless!

  2. Ron Purvis says:

    Great message Scott! Ron Purvis

  3. bleysingwest says:

    Don’t forget Philippians 1:6 … He has plans with destinations marked out, and the course well known. We have plots, with alternate destinations and varying routes. I’m so glad that He absolutely will complete His plan for me, for you. Enables a good nights’ sleep, it does!

  4. silver price says:

    I am sure that God has given me a personal vision for ministry that is leading us into this next chapter in our spiritual journey. I am currently in discussions with the Conference leadership and will be working with them to determine how God is guiding to put this vision in action for the purpose of advancing His kingdom. We are under appointment to Valley Chapel through the conference year and anticipate continuing in our present roles until early June. We covet your continued prayers as we seek God’s direction and say again, our church family has changed our life for the good and for that we thank you and praise Him.

What do you think?

