Think and Grow Spiritually Rich

Over and over, the scriptures teach us how to prosper and thrive spiritually.  Sometimes this affects our monetary condition and sometimes it doesn’t.  But I’ve found the key to happiness and fulfillment is delighting in God and daily staying connected with Him.

1 How blessed is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked, nor stand in the path of sinners, nor sit in the seat of scoffers!

2 But his delight is in the law of the Lord, and in His law he meditates day and night.

3 He will be like a tree firmly planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in its season.  And its leaf does not wither; and in whatever he does, he prospers.

Psalm 1:1-3

Psalm 1 paints a beautiful picture of believers being like trees.  We are trees firmly planted by God’s grace.  I’ve done a lot of kayaking and canoeing over the years.  River banks are lush with plants, trees, and they team with insect and aquatic life.  It’s amazing how a year-round water supply can transform the environment.

Verse 3 inspires us to be like those plants or trees.  Stay close to God by staying rooted in His word.  Verse 2 uses the word meditate.  So we don’t think lightly about God; we think deeply, we pray, we study, have a discussion with God.  His ways and thoughts take root in us.  Not just information, but transformation.  The result:  We receive joy and contentment.

Life is full of duties and distractions.  King David, a man with huge responsibilities, managed to keep God in his thoughts day and night.  Find time to reflect on God and His word throughout the day.  Bring it with you in your daily decisions–business, family, personal endeavors.

Here are some ways I try to stay planted in God’s truth and grace:

  • Reading through the Bible
  • Studying God’s word with others
  • Writing for God and His people
  • Reading a morning devotional
  • Listening to a spiritual book on my commute to work
  • Listening to uplifting music
  • Staying connected with other Christian bloggers & writers
  • Worship and discipleship – Sunday service & small groups.
  • Continually throughout the day in prayer
  • Discussions with my family over an evening meal

I know this sounds like a lot of work.  I’m not able to do all the above all the time.  I do at least 3 to 4 of these on a daily basis and try to do most of them on weekly basis.  Great rewards come to those who intentionally make an effort.  And though I can’t promise you earthly riches, it’s a sure thing you will grow spiritually rich.

How about you?  How do you stay connected with God throughout the day or week?

This entry was posted in Spiritual Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Think and Grow Spiritually Rich

  1. Henry says:

    Scott, I enjoyed this post. I start my day with devotion: individual prayer, Bible reading and meditation, and worship. I have found that the way I start my day has an emmense impact on the way the rest of the day goes.

    A bit later, my wife and I pray together and share a verse that we may have read and sometimes we discuss some new understanding we gained from it. We have found this helps us to learn and grow spiritually together.

    Sharing in Sunday church service is important as well, although we currently are seeking for that local body we can call “home.”

    Writing for God and his people is definitely on my list as well. He has given me this grace gift of writing, and it is my humble honor to use it on his behalf.

    I also enjoy singing or humming uplifting music while I work. It works wonders in soothing the soul, and it just helps the workday go faster.

    Sharing with other Christian bloggers and writers has been a relatively new addition to this list. Nonetheless, it has been a rewarding one.

  2. Don Morse says:

    Great post as always Scott. One key point I think you hit on a couple times is sharing with others. I am part of a small group and can’t stress to others how much this has helped me in my journey.

    “Studying God’s word with others”
    “Worship and discipleship – Sunday service & small groups.”

    God Bless

What do you think?

