Drinking My Coffee While Saving the Planet

No, I’m not an environmental activist, but I believe we owe this planet some tender loving care.  Has not God commissioned us as stewards of this world?  I believe He has.

Earth has always been our unique home.  Just about everything we take for granted springs from the world around us.  God has gifted us this unique cosmic gem.  Though our present earth will not endure forever, we must maintain Her and manage Her bounties.

Can you and I really make a difference?  You betcha; it’s not as hard as it might seem.  Let’s explore how we can be better caregivers.

First, we must understand one thing:  Our consumer mindset and love affair with convenience are part of the problem (notice I didn’t say crisis, and no, this is not an attack on capitalism).

All of us can make small improvements to keep our environment healthy and clean.  For example, I’ve stopped using styrofoam cups for coffee and have started using my ceramic mug.  Doing some quick math, that means I will stop using anywhere from 800 to 1000 styrofoam cups a year.  I wonder if the boss will give me a spot award!

It’s amazing how much we waste every single day.  Just take a look in your garbage can this afternoon (hold your nose).  Did I really need that cardboard container to carry my fries only twenty feet from the cashier’s counter?

Here are a few things we can do and collectively make a big impact on the planet:

  • Recycle – why expend more money and energy to dig raw resources out of the ground when some of those resources are buried in our trash cans?
  • Decide on what disposable products you can live without.  Okay parents, I’m willing to live with disposable diapers.
  • Flip off the switch–stop consuming energy from unneeded lights or appliances.
  • Wash full loads of dishes and clothes.
  • Keep your thermostat in the appropriate range for summer and winter.
  • Insulate your house properly.  Electricity doesn’t just happen.  We must dig literally tons of coal from the ground to keep up with everyone’s demands.  Remember–it always takes energy to make useful energy.
  • Carpool or telecommute.
  • Drive fuel-efficient vehicles, or ride your bike.
  • Use teleconferencing and other resource-saving technologies.

I know, some of these may not be possible or practical based on your situation.  My point though:  We can all take some small steps.  And they do add up!

How about you?  Can you add some ideas to the list?

This entry was posted in Outdoor Knowledge, Outdoor Skills and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Drinking My Coffee While Saving the Planet

  1. Mildred Aenchbacher says:

    Thanks to this blog, I got a recycle bin and started recycling stuff today. Wish me luck.

  2. Scott, great advice. Our condo doesn’t offer recycling, so I do it the old fashioned way – collecting it and driving it to the recycling bin. It’s amazing how little trash we throw away – our trash container is usually only 1/3 full after this.

    And you’re spot on – God called us to be caretakers of this world. We don’t have to be fanatics to care for our temporary home.

    • Amen, Chris! It’s crazy sometimes how we classify people if they have a concern for the planet, yet don’t embrace extreme views. I think politics has blown things way out of proportion in some cases. Our world is a lot more robust than we give it credit for.

What do you think?

