A Great Day on the Lake

Any day is a great day on the lake, but this weekend proved to be very productive.  Between my son, my father and myself, we caught about 40 fish and kept 20.  The weather was beautiful–sunny and relatively calm.  The Hula Popper, Beetle Spin, Shaky Head Jig and Wacky Worm were the lures of choice.  Fishing from my Native Watercraft Kayak, I caught both bass and bluegill in the morning hours and continued until about 2 p.m.  I’m afraid the location must remain a secret, but I will say that the lake can be found in Georgia.  No, I didn’t catch any for the record books, but I enjoyed a day’s outing with my son and Dad–the greatest catch of all.

Hope you had a great weekend.  Please share your spring fishing experiences.  No, you don’t have to give away your secret fishing hole.

This entry was posted in Outdoor Knowledge, Outdoor Skills and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Great Day on the Lake

  1. I don’t think I could fish and maneuver a kayak at the same time! Looks like fun though.

    • These fishing kayaks are very stable compared to whitewater kayaks, but they can be a bit cramped at times. I made sure to get one with very comfortable seats. They are a blast to fish from.

  2. Mike says:

    Brings back memories. Love the worm and Beetle-Spin. Had the opportunity to spend a summer on Kentucky Lake, while renovating a lake house. They had a dock that went well out into the water. Caught quite a few bass off it. It was a fun summer. The place inspired me to write one of my favorite poems – ‘Lake House’, which you might enjoy. Don’t know how to provide a link to it. It’s somewhere on my site. Guess you can search for it pretty easily.

    I haven’t forgot I owe you a note. I sent in the approval form for my book the other day. After a few corrections, should be getting my author copy in the next week or so. I’ll try to get you a note.

  3. Mike, thanks for the comment! I just went over and read your poem and left a comment. Great writing!

What do you think?

