Encouraging Bible Verses – The Resurrection

Some of the most encouraging Bible verses I know bestow this tremendous hope of resurrection. I suppose I could search for other encouraging verses that will help me get through a problem, a sickness, a tragedy or a doubt, but Paul indicates that our beliefs pivot on this one thing–Christ rose from the dead. If it didn’t really happen, then where is our hope? If it didn’t take place, then what are we living for?   Each of us will face death at some point;  we eventually have to die from something.

Because Jesus rose from the grave I know these things:

  • He is the Son of God.
  • He loves me that much.
  • He hates sin that much.
  • He forgives me of my rebellious nature.
  • He doesn’t want there to be separation between us.
  • I too will resurrect some day
  • A better country lies ahead.

This weekend preachers across our nation will pepper their sermons with encouraging Bible verses. You may even attend some spectacular musicals or passion plays. But I would challenge everyone and myself to look at the resurrection another way. I’m sure that it pleases God that we place our hope in the historic resurrection event, but what pleases Him more: Are we living our lives in light of the resurrection?

I’m not beating anyone up here. Human nature experiences doubt and, consequently, craves hope. I’ve navigated seasons of doubt myself. I’ve also not followed God as I know I should. But what pleases God most is not my mental assent that the resurrection really occurred; it’s living like it really occurred. Christ paid that ultimate sacrifice for us, but I believe He does ask for one sacrifice in return–obedience.

Here are some of the most encouraging verses in the Bible:

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

John 3:16

Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life. The one who believes in me will live, even though they die;

John 11:25

But if it is preached that Christ has been raised from the dead, how can some of you say that there is no resurrection of the dead? If there is no resurrection of the dead, then not even Christ has been raised. And if Christ has not been raised, our preaching is useless and so is your faith.

1 Corinthians 15: 12-14

But Christ has indeed been raised from the dead, the firstfruits of those who have fallen asleep. For since death came through a man, the resurrection of the dead comes also through a man. For as in Adam all die, so in Christ all will be made alive.

1 Corinthians 15: 20-22

So will it be with the resurrection of the dead. The body that is sown is perishable, it is raised imperishable; it is sown in dishonor, it is raised in glory; it is sown in weakness, it is raised in power; it is sown a natural body, it is raised a spiritual body.

1 Corinthians 15: 42-44

For the perishable must clothe itself with the imperishable, and the mortal with immortality. When the perishable has been clothed with the imperishable, and the mortal with immortality, then the saying that is written will come true: “Death has been swallowed up in victory.”

“Where, O death, is your victory? Where, O death, is your sting?”

The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law. But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.

Therefore, my dear brothers and sisters, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain.

1 Corinthians 15: 53-58

God bless you and your family this easter!  Please share additional verses that bring you great hope and inspiration.

This entry was posted in Spiritual Journey and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Encouraging Bible Verses – The Resurrection

  1. Enjoy a blessed Easter with your family!

What do you think?

