20 Last-Minute Gift Ideas for the Outdoorsman

Benchmade Folder

I’m sure all of you have your Christmas shopping done by now.  Yeah, right.  Okay, here are a few items you might want to consider for that outdoorsman in your life whether they hike, hunt, fish or do whatever outdoors.

  • Gift cards are always great:  Bass Pro Shop, Dicks Sporting Goods, REI, Cabelas, Academy, etc.
  • The Bear Grylls knife made by Gerber.  A full size fixed blade knife.  Comes with a fire starter and honing stone is built into the sheath.  Spend a little extra and get a Benchmade folding knife.  I carry this knife with me everywhere I go.
  • Nikon Monarch binoculars.  Terrific lens quality and compact.
  • The Hunter Safety System fall protection harness.  This gift could save your loved one’s life.
  • GPS Unit.  I personally love the Garmin brand.  Great for hunting, bushwhacking and geocaching.
  • A deer cart.  What a great invention.  If you don’t have a 4 wheeler, this little device will help you transport your deer easily.
  • Portable chair blind.  I have two of these and have actually shot deer from them.  For those hunters who like to keep their feet on the ground.
  • Summit Tree stands.  Strong, durable, quiet and TMA certified.  I purchased the Goliath.
  • Katadyn Water Filter.  Great for hiking and backpacking.
  • How about a trip:  hunting, fishing, hiking, snow skiing, etc.  I’ve known families who have given up gift giving for Christmas and just taken a nice family vacation.
  • Under Armour base layers.  I enjoy the Cold Gear products and purchase them on sale at Dick’s.
  • Depth finder.  Helps locate fish and determine lake depth.
  • Subscription to a favorite outdoor magazine.
  • An annual parking pass to your state parks.
  • Keen Sandals.  Great for fishermen.  I like the Newport.
  • Therm-a-Rest Prolite sleeping pad.  I absolutely love this pad for backpacking.  I even will take this car camping instead of the big inflatable mattress.
  • The Tracks Lite Staff hiking stick.  I really like this walking stick.  It’s lightweight and only one section.  I found this at Bass Pro Shop.
  • How about some devotional books?  “Swim Upstream” by Dave Myers is a good one.  Look for an upcoming post, and I will list my other favorites.
  • 550 Paracord bracelets.  Makes a great stocking stuffer.  You can make this yourself by checking out this free resource.
  • For the outdoor cooks, check out the Dizzy Pig seasonings and the Pigtail Food Flipper.  Awesome products!  I have found these products at some Ace Hardware stores.

Those are some of my gift ideas.  What would you like to add to the list?

This entry was posted in Outdoor Knowledge, Outdoor Skills and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 20 Last-Minute Gift Ideas for the Outdoorsman

  1. 6or7 says:

    Good Read. Merry CHIRSTMAS Scott and a blessed New Year!

  2. Don Morse says:

    I know this is late but….. a copy of your book.

What do you think?

