Job and the Creator

No doubt many of you have read the book of Job.  I find this to be a remarkable book, and my favorite passages begin in Chapter 38, ending with Chapter 42.  God never truly answers Job’s questions about why suffering and tribulation have found him, but God does respond in a very astounding way.  He reminds Job that He is the Creator and graciously enables Job to see Him with new eyes.  Job’s perspective of God–not to mention Job’s own plight–changes dramatically.

I encourage you to go back and read chapter 38 to 42, but here are a few favorites:

 4 “Where were you when I laid the earth’s foundation? 
   Tell me, if you understand. 
5 Who marked off its dimensions? Surely you know! 
   Who stretched a measuring line across it? 
6 On what were its footings set, 
   or who laid its cornerstone— 
7 while the morning stars sang together 
   and all the angels shouted for joy?

Job 38:4-7

 31 “Can you bind the chains of the Pleiades? 
   Can you loosen Orion’s belt? 
32 Can you bring forth the constellations in their seasons 
   or lead out the Bear with its cubs? 
33 Do you know the laws of the heavens? 
   Can you set up God’s dominion over the earth?

 34 “Can you raise your voice to the clouds 
   and cover yourself with a flood of water? 
35 Do you send the lightning bolts on their way? 
   Do they report to you, ‘Here we are’?

Job 38:31-35

19 “Do you give the horse its strength 
   or clothe its neck with a flowing mane? 
20 Do you make it leap like a locust, 
   striking terror with its proud snorting? 
21 It paws fiercely, rejoicing in its strength, 
   and charges into the fray. 
22 It laughs at fear, afraid of nothing; 
   it does not shy away from the sword. 
23 The quiver rattles against its side, 
   along with the flashing spear and lance. 
24 In frenzied excitement it eats up the ground; 
   it cannot stand still when the trumpet sounds. 
25 At the blast of the trumpet it snorts, ‘Aha!’ 
   It catches the scent of battle from afar, 
   the shout of commanders and the battle cry.

Job 39:19-25

1 Can you pull in Leviathan with a fishhook 
   or tie down its tongue with a rope? 
2 Can you put a cord through its nose 
   or pierce its jaw with a hook? 
3 Will it keep begging you for mercy? 
   Will it speak to you with gentle words? 
4 Will it make an agreement with you 
   for you to take it as your slave for life? 
5 Can you make a pet of it like a bird 
   or put it on a leash for the young women in your house? 
6 Will traders barter for it? 
   Will they divide it up among the merchants? 
7 Can you fill its hide with harpoons 
   or its head with fishing spears? 
8 If you lay a hand on it, 
   you will remember the struggle and never do it again! 
9 Any hope of subduing it is false; 
   the mere sight of it is overpowering. 
10 No one is fierce enough to rouse it. 
   Who then is able to stand against me? 
11 Who has a claim against me that I must pay? 
   Everything under heaven belongs to me.

Job 41:1-11

Notice Job’s response to God in Chapter 42:

1 Then Job replied to the LORD:

 2 I know that you can do all things; 
   no purpose of yours can be thwarted. 
3 You asked, ‘Who is this that obscures my plans without knowledge?’ 
   Surely I spoke of things I did not understand, 
   things too wonderful for me to know.

 4 You said, ‘Listen now, and I will speak; 
   I will question you, 
   and you shall answer me.’ 
5 My ears had heard of you 
   but now my eyes have seen you. 
6 Therefore I despise myself 
   and repent in dust and ashes.

Job 42:1-6

This entry was posted in Spiritual Journey and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

