Great Summer Reads – 2011

The cool hand of fall tugs softly on my arm as the summer of 2011 releases its warm touch.  I don’t know about your location, but the temperatures in Atlanta, Georgia have been frequenting the 70s and 80s.  I love this time of year.  I am usually reading so many books it’s a milestone to finish one.  I’m proud to say I finally completed eight books and five short stories this summer.  The summer’s been a scorcher, but I am thankful for my reading time and the chance to escape the South’s famous heat and humidity.  All of the books and stories below were wonderfully entertaining.  Many were very edifying and uplifting.

I want to give a shout out to a couple of my author friends:  Ted Casey and DK Levick. Both of these guys are very talented writers.  Please take a minute and check out their websites to learn more about the works listed below and other writing projects:

http://edwarddcasey.com/

http://dklevick.wordpress.com/

 

Summer Book Reads

Runaway by Ted Casey

Letters by a Modern Mystic by Frank Laubach

Wild at Heart by John Eldredge

The Tiger by John Vaillant

Killer Angels:  The Classic Novel of the Civil War by Michael Shaara

Heaven by Randy Alcorn

Heaven on Earth: Capturing Jonathan Edward’s Vision of Living in Between by Stephen Nichols

Don’t Waste Your Life by John Piper

 

Short Story Reads

The Snows of Kilimanjaro by Ernest Hemingway

The Short Happy Life of Francis Macomber by Ernest Hemingway

Forgotten by Ted Casey

The Man in the Painting by DK Levick

Potatoes by DK Levick

I hope you have enjoyed the summer and have enjoyed some fine reading.  Please leave a comment and share some of your favorite books or stories from the summer.

This entry was posted in Outdoor Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Great Summer Reads – 2011

  1. taureanw says:

    Fall is a great time to read! I’m in the mid-west & there is nothing better then sitting on my back porch, in 70 degree weather, with my book and a nice cool drink. 🙂

    • thanks for the comments and I agree. It’s nice here today in Georgia. I think I’ll head outside with my Kindle and continue to whittle away on my current reading list.

  2. Mike says:

    Encouraged to read more. Thanks

    • Thanks Mike. You have any good books to recommend?

      • Mike says:

        Funny you should ask that. I’ve been thinking of a couple ever since I looked at your list. I see you’ve read Eldrege. That was a good one. His ‘Walking With God’ was good too. A while back I read ‘The Travler’s Gift’; can’t think of the author, but recently read another one of his books – ‘The Noticer’. Both very good books and easy to read.

  3. thanks Mike … I have the the “Walking With God” CDs in my truck now. I have a 2 hour commute each day, so I get to listen to many audio books that way. I’ll check out the others you mentioned.

What do you think?

