10 Great Books for Parents

To quote Dr. James Dobson, “parenting isn’t for cowards.”  Book knowledge doesn’t necessarily make us great parents, but they can help us learn from other’s mistakes and build a strong foundation.  We take the time to study and learn, so that we may do well in our careers.  Why not do the same for our fatherly or motherly skills?  So often, we think these skills come naturally; we know they don’t.

Here are 10 books that my wife and I have read—and in some cases, reread—over the years.  I haven’t followed everyone’s advice to the letter, but I continue to learn what I can and apply what I can.  Have fun parents, and go in God’s grace.

Bringing Up Boys                                          by Dr. James Dobson

Bringing Up Girls                                          by Dr. James Dobson

The Difference a Father Makes                  by Ed Tandy McGlasson

The 7 Secrets of Effective Fathers              by Ken R. Canfield

She Calls Me Daddy                                       by Robert Wolgemuth

Dare to Discipline                                            by Dr. James Dobson

Hide or Seek                                                    by Dr. James Dobson

10 Things I Want My Son to Know              by Steve Chapman

Wild at Heart                                                    by John Eldredge

123 Magic                                                          by Dr. Thomas Phelan

Please take a minute and share with us other books you have found helpful through your parenting journey.  God bless.

This entry was posted in Spiritual Journey and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 10 Great Books for Parents

  1. pastorjeffcma says:

    I have read 7 of the 10. My favorites are “The 7 Secrets of Effective Fathers” and “She Calls Me Daddy.” I am afraid I have never been a fan of Eldredge. I have read “Wild At Heart” and even led a Men’s Bible study on it. Just really didn’t care for it. The all time best book I have ever read on family is written not by an evangelical Christian but by a Mormon–Stephen Covey, “The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Families.” Also really like “Always Daddy’s Girl,” Norman Wright. “Shepherding A Child’s Heart,” Ted Tripp. That’s probably enough. It’s probably clear that I have only daughters. 🙂

    • thanks for the comments. I am a fan of Covey as well. I have read his popular “The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People”, but I haven’t read the “family” version of that. I will nee d to check out the other 2 you mentioned.

What do you think?

