31 Days in Proverbs – Part 1

Each year, I set aside one month to read through Solomon’s wonderful work of wisdom.  There are 31 days in July, and if I read one chapter a day, I’ll complete the whole book.  Proverbs contains short, but profound truths and principles; they pertain to all areas of life:  relationships, finances, work, goals, family, spiritual walk, and temptations.  Over and over, I’ve noticed the phrase, “The fear of the Lord.”  The way to wisdom is to take God seriously and view Him rightly, to respect Him for who He is.  This respect continues to grow into a deeper love for our amazing Creator.

God has given us all wisdom through His Holy Spirit.  Our challenge is applying this wisdom to our daily walk.  Often, we will ask God for power—power to overcome fear, guilt, doubt, sin or bad relationships.   We expect Him to work like a mysterious magician, waving His holy wand and zapping us into being obedient Christians.   But wisdom is power.  Let me repeat—wisdom is power.  Lots of times it’s just a matter of doing—not praying, asking or seeking.

The verses I’ve listed below spoke to me in my daily readings.  God wrote for a wide audience, and I’m sure other verses will stir your heart differently.  He leaves us many holy treasures waiting to be uncovered over time and through diligent study.  If you’re not currently reading God’s Word, perhaps you’ll join me.   And please take a minute and share your favorite verse(s) from Proverbs.

The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge; fools despise wisdom and instruction.  Proverbs 1:7

For the LORD gives wisdom; From His mouth come knowledge and understanding. 
He stores up sound wisdom for the upright; He is a shield to those who walk in integrity, guarding the paths of justice, and He preserves the way of His godly ones.  Proverbs 2:6-8

Trust in the LORD with all your heart and do not lean on your own understanding. 
In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight.    Proverbs 3:5-6

Watch over your heart with all diligence, for from it flow the springs of life.  Proverbs 4:23

Let your fountain be blessed, and rejoice in the wife of your youth.  As a loving hind and a graceful doe, let her breasts satisfy you at all times; be exhilarated always with her love.  Proverbs 5:18-19

Go to the ant, O sluggard, observe her ways and be wise, which, having no chief, officer or ruler, prepares her food in the summer and gathers her provision in the harvest.  Proverbs 6:6-8

My son, keep my words and treasure my commandments within you. Keep my commandments and live, and my teaching as the apple of your eye. Bind them on your fingers; write them on the tablet of your heart.  Proverbs 7:1-3

Take my instruction and not silver, and knowledge rather than choicest gold. 
For wisdom is better than jewels; and all desirable things cannot compare with her.  Proverbs 8:10, 11

He who corrects a scoffer gets dishonor for himself, and he who reproves a wicked man gets insults for himself.  Do not reprove a scoffer, or he will hate you, reprove a wise man and he will love you. Give instruction to a wise man and he will be still wiser, teach a righteous man and he will increase his learning.  Proverbs 9:7-9

Poor is he who works with a negligent hand, but the hand of the diligent makes rich.  Proverbs 10:4

This entry was posted in Spiritual Journey and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 31 Days in Proverbs – Part 1

  1. pastorjeffcma says:

    Yes Scott this is a wonderful discipline. Not even a bad idea to read a chapter from Proverbs each day for the year–the more wisdom I can get the better. As far as my favorites are concerned–these are a few.

    Probably my favorite passage in the entire book are the first five verses of chapter 2:
    “My son, if you will receive my words and treasure my commands within you, make your ear attentive to wisdom, incline your heart to understanding; For if you cry for discernment, lift your voice for understanding; If you seek for her as silver and search for her as for hidden treasures; Then you will discern the fear of the Lord and discover the knowledge of God.”

    Proverbs 13: 12–“Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but desire fulfilled is a tree of life.”

    Proverbs 14: 34–“Righteousness exalts a nation, but sin is a disgrace to any people.”

    Proverbs 18: 10–“The name of the Lord is a strong tower; The righteous runs into it and is safe.”

    Proverbs 21: 1–“The king’s heart is like channels of water in the hand of the Lord; He turns it wherever He wishes.”

    And maybe I love this verse because I have two daughters, but Proverbs 31: 30 says, “Charm is deceitful and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord, she shall be praised.”

    • thanks Pastor Jeff … some great verses you listed there. I may have to borrow one or two in my future posts. Our nation’s leaders would do well to heed some of these verses.

  2. Scott,
    This is one of my favorite books in the Bible. It has been my daily devotional for many, many years. There is so much wisdom in this book, everytime I read it I see something I didn’t see before. Thanks for sharing it. Keep on keeping on. You have a gift of writing from God & it blesses many people including me.
    Grace

    • Thanks for the comments. Yes, I also pick up more each time I read this book. The discipline of reading God’s word helps us discover new truths, but also brings to remembrance things we often forget or sometimes try to block out.

  3. Mildred Aenchbacher says:

    Great advice to read a chapter a day in the wonderful book. Here are a few verses that I have treasured over the years. Proverbs 3: 5-6 Trust in the Lord with all thine heart, and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.
    Proverbs 3: 12 For whom the Lord loveth he correcteth: even as a father the son in whom he delighteth.
    Proverbs 7: 15 Therefore came I forth to meet thee, diligently to seek thy face, and I have found thee.
    Proverbs 12: 17 He that speaketh truth sheweth forth righteousness; but a false witness deceit.
    Proverbs 15: 32 He that refuseth instruction despiseth his own soul: but he that heareth reproff getteth understanding.
    Proverbs 22: 6 Train up a child in the way he should go; and when he is old, he wil not depart from it. ( This verse speaks the truth in the way you were trained, and it worked).
    Proverbs 28: 13 He that covereth his sins shall not prosper; but whoso confesseth and forsaketh them shall have mercy.

  4. I needed this read today. Thanks, Scott.

  5. Pingback: Recapping 2011 | Trails of Life

What do you think?

