A New Poem – Blinking Forest

A few weeks ago, I was walking my dog down a trail through the woods.  As it grew darker, lightning bugs materialized all around me, and that encounter planted the idea for the poem below.  I hope you enjoy, and I hope you find inspiration in God’s creation.

Blinking Forest

By S Scott Johnson

Flashes on the still night air

Points of light, they hover there.

Winged creatures pose in gentle flight,

Mixing magic with the twilight.

I watch for that fiery-red glow,

Though an intermittent show.

I wonder—is he there or here?

Guessing where he’ll reappear.

Katydids call, forest eyes blink

Causing my soul’s sorrows to shrink.

Tiny lanterns moving in the dark,

Creation’s small, splendorous spark.

Who fashioned this wondrous display?

Be careful the answer you weigh.

Thank You for this scintillating sight,

Oh God, our endless delight.

This entry was posted in Creation Moment, Outdoor Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A New Poem – Blinking Forest

  1. Mildred Aenchbacher says:

    You did a great job on this poem. I could just feel the presence of the lightning bugs, as well as our creator as I read the poem. It brought back many memories of my childhood.

  2. Pingback: The Glory of Sons | Trails of Life

What do you think?

