Did You Hear That?

Graceful Doe

I remember as a boy while hunting with my dad, I found it difficult to stay still and concentrate.  He taught me that if I wanted to see a deer, I needed to be still, quiet and patient.  As we waited, it seemed like minutes turned into hours, but I will never forget those four most exciting words, “Did you hear that?” When he said those four words, I knew he had heard something that stood out among the myriad of forest sounds.  My heart would beat faster, and my neck hairs stood at attention.  And then he would say the second most exciting phrase, “Do you see it?” Now I knew he was on to something, because he could see the prize—a prize filtered through the eyes of an experienced hunter.

The scripture tells us about another man who had to be patient, listen and observe.  His name:  Elijah.  The Bible says he was a man with a nature like ours.  And similar to many men, he found himself in a precarious situation.  An evil woman named Jezebel pursued Elijah, and guess where he fled?  A day’s journey into the wilderness.  Check out the story in I Kings 19.  As Elijah flees for his life, he witnesses a tornado, an earthquake and then a fire.  In I Kings 19:12, we see that God wasn’t in any of the three natural phenomena, but He did follow their destructive force with a “still small voice.”  God’s voice came to comfort the prophet and reassure him.

Do you hear the “still small voice” in your life?  We all get caught up in the sights, sounds and distractions of life—noise.  But like the wise hunter, we can learn to focus on the prize—God’s guidance and His assurance.  He probably won’t come to us with an audible voice, but better than that, He lives in us, leading us with His Spirit and His Word.  Something is moving down the trail, my friend.  Did you hear that?  I think I hear Him calling.

11And he said, Go forth, and stand upon the mount before the LORD. And, behold, the LORD passed by, and a great and strong wind rent the mountains, and brake in pieces the rocks before the LORD; but the LORD was not in the wind: and after the wind an earthquake; but the LORD was not in the earthquake:

12And after the earthquake a fire; but the LORD was not in the fire: and after the fire a still small voice.

I Kings 19:11-12

This entry was posted in Spiritual Journey and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Did You Hear That?

  1. Mildred Aenchbacher says:

    Scott,
    This really spoke to my heart. I can just hear you Dad saying “Did you hear that”, and “Did you see that”. The Lord does indeed speak to us in a still small voice. It’s up to us to be still and listen. If we don’t listen, we will never hear him.

  2. Awesome post! Listening to God takes practice just as hunting does. Maybe more.

What do you think?

