God and Krispy Kremes

For years I lived with the trappings of the pastry world, inferior, stale, grocery-variety donuts. Then I tasted a Dunkin’ Donut which was a great improvement over what I’d experienced before. But one day I bit into a Krispy Kreme donut–my world was turned upside down! Later on, I discovered hot Krispy Kreme donuts, and I thought I had died and gone to Heaven.

20130429-220318.jpg

If you haven’t had a hot Krispy Kreme, I will pause now and say a prayer for you. If you don’t live close to a Krispy Kreme, you should quit your current job, sell everything, and move to a location next to one. (Ignore the the fact that each donut contains 200 calories: Why spoil this moment?) Note that you are a person without excuse since you’ve heard this message. Krispy Kreme evangelism pumps through my veins. I cannot–will not–recommend another kind of donut.

What do donuts have to do with God? Sample the verses below, and I warn you–you may want more!

O taste and see that the Lord is good;
How blessed is the man who takes refuge in Him!

Psalm 34:8 NASB

And Jesus said to him, “Why do you call Me good? No one is good except God alone.

Mark 10:18 NASB

Wow–taste and see that The Lord is good–what a simple request and who can’t identify with tasting and eating. God is boldly and truthfully claiming that He’s the best. And what–or who–can outdo the best? When you really have Him, you will want no other.

I’m so thankful that one day I met the God of the universe and finally came into a relationship with Him; I tasted Him and feasted. Now, no other relationship can satisfy. Whether you are an atheist, agnostic or just apathetic, I believe that any person who tastes God with an honest, open heart will experience something like they’ve never experienced before. The problem is that men have either preconceived notions of how God tastes and therefore, never even try, or they dine on counterfeit gods.

There’s a message here also for my believing friends: At times, we may backslide–we start enjoying the stale, mediocre donuts of this world. The remedy is simple though not always easy: Return to Him and keep your relationship with Him fresh. Sometimes we may have to sell things, give things up, move priorities around, or find additional time to renew our hearts and devotion to Him.

How about you? What do you do to keep your relationship with and your devotion to God fresh?

This entry was posted in Spiritual Journey and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to God and Krispy Kremes

  1. Mildred Aenchbachr says:

    When I first started reading I thought you had lost your mind, but then I got to the meat of the blog and I began to understand. It’s so true, once you have tasted the Lord you will never take anything as second best. One major blessings in my life has come at age 70. The car that I now drive has a CD player. It has really been a blessing. I love to listen to Christian music. I put a lot of CD’s in the car and listen to them every time I go anywhere. I drive down the road and just Praise the Lord. I can sometime get a better picture of Jesus through music than I can from reading the Bible, although nothing can take the place of HIS precious word. Thank you for your blog. I enjoy all of them. Love, Mimmie

  2. A new Psalm — The Word of the Lord is sweeter than a Krispy Creme!! and those donuts are pretty darn sweet.

What do you think?

