How to Make a Survival Bracelet

Bald Eagle Bracelet

What is a survival bracelet?

It’s a decorative and functional bracelet for all ages and genders.  The material is 550 parachute cord, and I use the Cobra Weave for the knot work. If you find yourself lost or stranded in the backcountry, you can untie the 550 paracord and apply it to several survival scenarios:

  • String up your poncho as a make-shift shelter.
  • Tie splints for broken bones.
  • Create snares for small game.
  • Lash your knife to a stick to make a spear.
  • The inner fibers make great fishing line.
  • (550 means 550 pound breaking strength)

Each bracelet makes a great gift, scout project or just a plain family fun activity.  It will strengthen you knot tying skills and become a new enjoyable hobby.

Some people even sell these for $6 to $8 dollars a piece.  With additional lengths of cord, you can also make dog collars, belts, gun straps, etc.  It’s really up to your imagination what you can make with paracord.

Wildlife Success Stories

I have created a series of bracelet color schemes that represent Wildlife Success Stories.  The bracelet pictured at the top of the post represents the Bald Eagle.  The Eagle has been taken off the Endangered Species List and continues to grow in numbers.  We’ve even seen a resurgence in their numbers here in the South.

Click this link Survival Bracelet to download a PDF tutorial that will show you how to make these bracelets. Feel free to print-out or share this PDF document with anyone who might be interested in this craft–youth, scouts, outdoorsmen, etc.

Pictured below are several other Wildlife Success Story bracelets.  In the tutorial, I explain what animals are represented by the various color patterns.

Find more nature-inspired crafts at www.fouroakscrafts.com

Wildlife Success Story Bracelets

This entry was posted in Outdoor Knowledge, Outdoor Skills and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to How to Make a Survival Bracelet

  1. Great bracelets! I checked out your PDF and I love how you named some of the survival bracelets after wildlife! A fantastic idea with very interesting facts!

    • Thanks for the comments. I checked out your site also and really like your work! I appreciate you stopping by! This stuff is very addictive.

    • Rob Broda says:

      I like the bracelets. I have found that it may be hard to find all the colors that you mey may need to make them. I started a site that will provide just what you need to make these awesome bracelets http://www.survivalbraceletkits.com/
      Also there are instructions included if your not quite sure

      • Rob … that’s a fantastic site you have there. Love the idea of the kits, and I watched the video instructions. You are right about the colors. I had to travel around to 2 Army Surplus stores to the find mine. Ordering online is obviously an easier way to go. Thanks for sharing this great resource!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Thanks so much for the instructions! I mad a bracelet and it is great. I ended up using your lengths … only problem was I ended up cutting off over two feet of cord on both ends. Just recommend maybe using 6-8 feet of cord instead of ten.

  3. Pingback: 20 Last-Minute Gift Ideas for the Outdoorsman | Trails of Life

  4. Pingback: Recapping 2011 | Trails of Life

  5. Jack Cutts says:

    where do you get the safety/neon green color that you use in the bald eagle bracelets?
    thanks!

    • Jack … the color in the photo may be a little off, but it’s actually yellow. I got all of these colors at the Army / Navy Surplus store in Forest Park, near Atlanta Georgia.

  6. Scott says:

    Do you know what kind of weave was used for the grizzly bear bracelet or have a link to the instructions. I really liked the way that one looked. Thanks.

  7. Just wanted to say “THANKS” for putting the instructions on here! I found them very comprehensive…user friendly. I also wanted to say that I did follow the instructions exactly and wanted to suggest to those who had “extra” length that they have to cut off in the end….use it for the next bracelet as the base cord that you tie your other color(s) to; that way you are not wasting any of your cord.

    Quick question, I want to add the buckle to some but having a hard time figuring out how to finish it off. Can you advise me?

    Thanks again!

    • Katheleen … good advice on the extra length. I need to go back and modify the instructions some for the length. As for the buckles, if you will look back on this thread of comments look for Rob Broda’s comments and his website link (www.survivalbraceletkits.com). He has a good set of instructions for the buckle and also has a short video. If that doesn’t help let me know and I’ll be glad to advise further.

  8. Pingback: How To Make A Paracord Dog Collar | Trails of Life

  9. llamapacker says:

    I have passed it along to a number of dog owners and will give it a try. Thanks.

  10. These are really wonderful ideas in on the topic of blogging.
    You have touched some fastidious things here.
    Any way keep up wrinting.

  11. Wendy says:

    I make them but I am in need of a supplier for fire starter toggles and 1″ knife with circle end to act as clasp and striker. I only sell at local craft fairs, etc. Does anyone know where I can get them?

  12. Anonymous says:

    Hi

  13. Liked, tweeted and Facebooked. Sounds like a great idea. Lots of my f/b friends are into hiking and camping.

What do you think?

